Previous Lord-Lieutenants of Cheshire

A History of the Post

Thomas David Briggs8 March 201025 August 2021
Sir William Arthur Bromley-Davenport2 August 19907 March 2010
Philip Lever, 3rd Viscount Leverhulme6 September 19491990
Sir William Bromley-Davenport15 April 19201949
Hugh Grosvenor, 2nd Duke of Westminster19 December 19051920
Wilbraham Egerton, 1st Earl Egerton21 March 19001905
Hugh Grosvenor, 1st Duke of Westminster31 March 188322 December 1899
William Egerton, 1st Baron Egerton29 January 186821 February 1883
Richard Grosvenor, 2nd Marquess of Westminster20 May 18451867
George Harry Grey, 6th Earl of Stamford24 June 181926 April 1845
George Harry Grey, 5th Earl of Stamford29 May 178323 May 1819
George Cholmondeley, 4th Earl of Cholmondeley19 July 1770May 1783
George Cholmondeley, 3rd Earl of Cholmondeley14 June 173310 June 1770
George Cholmondeley, 2nd Earl of Cholmondeley7 April 17257 May 1733
Hugh Cholmondeley, 1st Earl of Cholmondeley21 October 171418 January 1725
Other Windsor, 2nd Earl of Plymouth4 September 17131714
Hugh Cholmondeley, 1st Earl of Cholmondeley16 June 1703April 1713
Richard Savage, 4th Earl Rivers11 May 16951703
Henry Booth, 1st Earl of Warrington12 April 16892 January 1694
William Stanley, 9th Earl of Derby17 October 168823 December 1688
William Herbert, 1st Marquess of Powis28 February 16881688
William Stanley, 9th Earl of Derby11 May 16768 August 1687
John Egerton, 2nd Earl of Bridgewater24 January 16731676
Charles Stanley, 8th Earl of Derby30 July 166021 December 1672
Jointly with William Brereton, 2nd Baron Brereton19 July 1662April 1664
William Fiennes, 1st Viscount Saye and Sele1642 (Parliamentarian) 
William Stanley, 6th Earl of Derby21 December 16071642
Jointly with James Stanley, 7th Earl of Derby12 December 16261642
Henry Stanley, 4th Earl of Derby157225 September 1593
Edward Stanley, 3rd Earl of Derby15691572